Search HPS:

Entries in Week in Review (42)

Friday
Jul222011

The Park Slope Week in Review: 7/18/11 - 7/22/11

Hope everyone's staying cool!

Monday brought news that Fresh on Fifth, the women's boutique down on Fifth between Eleventh and Twelfth Streets, would be closing up shop in August First.

On Tuesday, the news spread that the long-vacant space that was last home to Hollywood Video, on the corner of Fifth Ave and Eighth Street, would be a Citibank. Good if you have an account there, but not for much else. I also snuck the first peek into the completed Bare Burger, coming soon to Seventh and First.

Wednesday confirmed that the wine bar from the owner of Miriam had indeed opened, on Fifth between St. Marks and Warren. Also, the space last home to Park Slope Restaurant, on Fifth between 11th and 12th, will be replaced by either a French or Italian restaurant. Finally, I took a look into the reason behind the renaming of 11th between 7th and 8th.

At long last, the neighborhood's first high-end cocktail bar opened Wednesday night, and it's certainly worth a visit. A van also crashed head-on into a FedEx truck on Seventh Avenue and First Street at about 3 PM on Thursday, resulting in multiple injuries.

And on Friday, I broke the news that the space last occupied by Patio Lounge, on Fifth between Berkeley and Lincoln, will soon be home to an Italian cafe and bakery. Also, what's the deal was with all those "Ron Paul Illuminati" signs sprouting up in the North Slope?

Friday
Jun242011

The Park Slope Week in Review: 6/20/11 - 6/24/11

The week got started with some pretty big news: An owner of Thistle Hill Tavern will be opening up a "modern Asian" restaurant on the corner of Seventh and 11th, and the head chef will be none other than Dale Talde, who helmed Buddakan and also appeared on Top Chef (and Top Chef Masters). Kulushkat, The new "gourmet falafel" restaurant, also opened on Dean Street near Fifth, and is damn good.

On Tuesday I wondered if this neighborhood really needs a "night watch," which was suggested by a Brooklynian poster after his bicycle seat was stolen. If you agree with him, feel free to drop by the meeting he's scheduled for Sunday at PS 321.

Wednesday brought confirmation that Kohzee Cafe, the "blazingly mediocre" diner on Sixth Ave and Seventh St., finally shuttered for good after being shut down, repeatedly, by the DOH for offenses including live mice. The owner just kept peeling the sticker off and re-opening, apparently because he loves paying fines. Also, the Five Guys burgers headed to Flatbush Avenue near Seventh got some plywood.

The building that's been getting a gut reno on Fifth and St. Johns lost its scaffolding on Thursday, and Tenko Sushi, another blazingly mediocre restaurant up the avenue by St. Marks, closed for good.

And on Friday Faros, the new Greek restaurant, finally opened for good on Seventh near Union (sorry, no more free food!). Also, I had a chance to chat with the owner of Purbird, the restaurant coming to Sixth and St. Marks, and it's all chicken, all the time. 

Saturday
Jun182011

The Park Slope Week in Review: 6/13/11 - 6/17/11

On Monday word got around that Sweetwolf's, the intriguing new restaurant coming to Sixth Avenue and 12th Street, is accepting all suggestions for menu items through their Facebook page. If your dish is chosen you get invited to the soft open and get to help tweak the recipe. Also, Chickadee Chick, the chicken-centric restaurant on Seventh, shut down.

On Tuesday I reported that Cobble Grill II opened on the corner of Sixth and 14th, where Balaka, the Indian Restaurant, had been before. Same owner, new strategy, but man, what a depressing space. Food is salads, sandwiches, and burgers.

Wednesday brought news that Grand Army Plaza's food truck festival would be now happening once a month, and some local business owners are pissed that they'll be losing business to the interlopers. I also tracked down some fresh-from-the-coconut coconut water, at the little fruit stand on Fifth and 14th.

On Thursday Mango/Remixed Thai Brasserie, the restaurant on Seventh in the North Slope that shut down last week, magically re-opened. Seventh Avenue is also getting a whole bunch of new bike racks.

On Friday I posted an early review of Faros, the new Greek restaurant opening next week on Seventh near Union, along with a full menu, and it was authentic and really impressive. They're in soft open mode for now, and (shh) all the food is free until they open for good. I also took a look at Prime Six's nearly-completed facade, and noticed that a new women's vintage clothing store, Pony, has opened on northern Fifth Avenue. 

Friday
May272011

The Park Slope Week in Review: 5/23/11 - 5/27/11


On Monday I noticed that Butter Lane, the cupcake shop that's replacing the ill-fated King of Cupcakes, got some signage.

Tuesday brought word that they had been closed for the past month not due to redecorating, as I had been told, but because they had been shut down by the DOB due to some illegal plumbing work. Shoe Mine, on Seventh by Sixteenth, shut down (although they open back up on occasion) in advance of moving to Trinidad. Calexico, the Mexican restaurant on the other end of the neighborhood that's not related to the famous cart, was seized by the taxman for nonpayment of taxes, and won't be re-opening. The biggest news of the day, though, was that Fleisher's Meats, the upstate landmark where superstar butchers (?!) like Tom Mylan honed their skills, would be moving into the neighborhood, on Fifth near Union Street. It's freakin' awesome news, people are already saying it's going to be the best butcher shop in the city.

Wednesday was a lot quieter, with news breaking that a "gourmet" falafel restaurant called Kulushkat will be opening on Dean Street near Fifth Avenue. Also, the underwhelming Kohzee Cafe, on Sixth, was shut down by the DOH but they kept scraping the sign off and opening up, because they just love paying fines, apparently. It was also my birthday.

On Thursday 79-81 Seventh Avenue, soon to be home to a Petco, got the big reveal, and it's a rather pleasant building, thankfully (as opposed to this). Also, a bridal shop called Sposabella will be moving into the space vacated by Dolly Lyla last week, on Seventh Avenue in the North Slope.

Friday brought some wild culinary news: Mark Simmons, the curly-haired Kiwi of Top Chef fame, will be opening up his first restaurant on Union Street, to be called Kiwiana, in the space last occupied by the ill-fated Lucas Fine Foods space. To the best of my knowledge it will be the only New Zealand-themed restaurant in the city. Also, I got a tour of the soon to open Greek restaurant with the great two-story wood facade, Pharos, on Seventh by Union.

Have a great Memorial Day Weekend my friends and neighbors!

Friday
May202011

The Park Slope Week in Review: 5/16/11 - 5/20/11


On Monday it was reported that the much-anticipated Dumplings and Things on Fifth between Fifth and Sixth had opened, and it certainly lives up to expectations (seriously, try the pork belly bao). I also shared a bunch of photos from the killer Fifth Avenue street fair from the day before.

On Tuesday I was able to sneak a peek inside the new Blueprint Cocktail Bar coming to the old Long Tan space, and it's looking quite classy. And in your "saw that coming" news of the week, a hair salon will be moving into the space last occupied by Sea World Fish Market, next to Timboo's on Fifth.

Wednesday brought the official release of the Here's Park Slope app for Android and iPhone. Check it out and let me know what you think, it's got all my blog posts as well as a comprehensive listing of just about every business in the neighborhood. I also had a chat with Murat Ozcan, the owner of Couleur Cafe, the French cafe moving into a spot on Seventh by Sixteenth, and he tells me that it should be opening on Tuesday.

On Thursday, a look behind the scaffolding of 79-81 Seventh Avenue, soon to be home to a Petco, revealed that construction is almost complete. Also, remember that odd little Clear Wifi store on Fifth near St. Marks that closed last week? It's going to be replaced by a Boost Mobile store. Yawn.

In other lamentable "coming soon" news, on Friday I spoke to Mark Ravitz, the guy responsible for the crazy "drips" on the front of his building at 200 Seventh Avenue and the wild little gallery in the ground floor space (he also did set design for Bowie's tours in the 70s- seriously an awesome dude), and he told me why the gallery has been cleared out: the space has been leased by MetLife, for mortgage company offices. Boo. Also, Dolly Lyla, the funky little vintagey shop on the far north end of Seventh Avenue, has closed up and will be re-opening in a few months on Degraw Street.

Page 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 9 Next 5 Entries »